At the starting line

So this is how this journey of a thousand miles begins – not with a bang but with a whimper. Probably more like a whine, really.

New_York_marathon_Verrazano_bridge

from Wikimedia Commons/Martineric

First some background.

Because I’ve grown used to it over the years, I like to use Map My Run for my log (you’ll have to join if you want to see what I’m up to, though you can do that with your Facebook ID, and that will also allow you to look at all the nutritional info I’ll be posting on the foods I eat). It may not be the best or even the most accurate at doing everything I want to do, but it holds everything I need it to hold and it’s fairly simple to use.

I have one of those scales that not only measures your weight but also your body fat percentage. Again, I know it’s not the most accurate but it’s in my bathroom and I’m only using it for comparison purposes anyway. I like to take my body fat percentage in the evening (because I’ve been told that’s the best time to do it) and my weight first thing in the morning (for the same reason). So I’ll always log my body fat % first (which was actually last night’s reading) followed by my weight (this morning’s reading). I’ll update it weekly, since I don’t want to get caught up in the numbers on a daily basis.

Today, I’m starting off at:

  • Body fat: 25%
  • Weight: 208 lbs.

Looking back at my daily food logs, I’m being told by Map My Run that I’m consistently over my daily protein allowance (which it pegs at 70 grams). There is a lot of confusion about how much protein you should take in, how much per sitting, and what happens if you take in too much (with the opinions on dangers ranging anywhere from flatulence to kidney failure). The common belief is that anywhere from one half to a full gram per pound of body weight is acceptable for the average person. So, even though Map My Run says I should have only 70g of protein per day, common belief holds that I can take in as much as 185g. That’s quite a discrepancy! I’m gonna let that play out naturally and hopefully get an idea over the next 30 days what my comfortable average is, but I think 100-120g per day is probably where I’m gonna plateau.

Another commonly held belief is that the majority of the protein you take in should not come primarily from supplements but from whole sources (meat, dairy, legumes, etc.). In that respect, the Isagenix plan is already raising a red flag with me because the bulk of what I’m taking in is from shakes (although that will probably end up at about 50/50, shaking out naturally – no pun intended – once I finish my 30 day trial run).

Map My Run also thinks I should take in considerably more carbs than I am – it seems its ratio is at about 60/10/30 (carbs/protein/fat). Right now, I’m taking in pretty equal amounts of carbs and protein (again because that’s what I’ve been told, and it makes sense to me), so I’m going to keep doing that.  My intake ratio right now is pretty much even, though I’ll have to bring the fat percentage down in order to drop body fat.

And in case you were wondering, no I’m not going on this diet, forsaking exercise, because I know that’s not how it works. This program is going to factor into my weekly work-out routine, which you can see at MapMyRun.com. That has to get kick-started, too.

Check out the supplements tab and go back often, as I’ll be updating my experiences with the different items as I get more used to which ones I like, what they do for me and how they fit into my daily routine, and even how to make them more palatable (since I know not everybody will have the same experiences as I do).

Here’s to a successful journey!

Leave a Reply

